Australia's leading research-based learning centre

All our online sessions are LIVE, interactive and taught by our qualified teachers. Try GEA for 2 Weeks at 25% off until 31st July

Opportunity Classes (OC) are offered in 75 selected government schools across NSW and cater for children in Years 5 and 6 who are academically gifted and talented. They provide a rich and intellectually stimulating educational environment.

Students who wish to be placed in OC in Year 5 need to sit the test in Year 4. Due to Covid-19 the Opportunity Class Placement Test this year, for entry in 2021, has been postponed until Wednesday 16 September 2020.

Parents of prospective applicants for OC must complete an “Intention to Apply” form provided by the school, then complete an online application. Applications close 26 June 2020. To apply, CLICK HERE. Parents and carers are requested to read the  Applying for Year 5 entry to an opportunity class in 2021 before making an application.

Entry into OC is administered by the High Performing Students Unit of the NSW Department of Education and determined by two factors:

  1. Students’ results in the OC Test – English (reading comprehension), mathematics and general ability.
  2. Students’ school’s assessment of their performance in English and mathematics in Year 4 and occasionally Year 3.

PLEASE NOTE: due to Covid-19, the NSW Department of Education has decided to base entry solely on the test score. In a statement, the department said: “To ensure the fair and consistent assessment of students across all schools and regions of NSW, this year students will be placed on test results only. Taking this approach reduces the effect of the disrupted start to the school year, which could compromise school assessment scores, and ensures that all students are placed using the same test performed under the same conditions.”


Opportunity Class entry scores for 2020


Number of vacancies: 1,740
Number of applicants: 12,344

Below is an alphabetical list showing every school in NSW and their minimum entry score for opportunity class. The minimum entry score is the score of the lowest scoring student to accept a place there.



Cut-Off OC Score (2020)

Alexandria Park Community School202
Alstonville Public School161
Armidale City Public School171
Artarmon Public School232
Ashfield Public School226
Balgowlah Heights Public School211
Balmain Public School214
Bathurst West Public School160
Beecroft Public School251
Biraban Public School162
Blacktown South Public School218
Blaxcell Street Public School205
Bradbury Public School187
Camden South Public School186
Caringbah North Public School208
Casula Public School205
Cessnock West Public School164
Chatswood Public School233
Colyton Public School185
Coonabarabran Public School163
Cudgegong Valley Public School163
Dubbo West Public School161
Dural Public School232
Earlwood Public School212
Ermington Public School239
Georges Hall Public School222
Glenbrook Public School184
Goonellabah Public School160
Gosford Public School197
Goulburn West Public School162
Greenacre Public School200
Greystanes Public School226
Harrington Street Public School204
Holsworthy Public School220
Hurstville Public School221
Illaroo Road Public School161
Ironbark Ridge Public School229
Jewells Primary School172
Kingswood Public School190
Leumeah Public School211
Lithgow Public School161
Maryland Public School170
Matthew Pearce Public School239
Mona Vale Public School207
Moree Public School162
Neutral Bay Public School222
New Lambton South Public School203
Newbridge Heights Public School213
North Rocks Public School243
Picnic Point Public School217
Port Macquarie Public School160
Quakers Hill Public School224
Queanbeyan South Public School168
Richmond Public School170
Rutherford Public School177
Ryde Public School230
Smithfield Public School204
Soldiers Point Public School176
South Grafton Public School161
St Andrews Public School194
St Johns Park Public School201
Sturt Public School164
Summer Hill Public School238
Sutherland Public School211
Tahmoor Public School161
Tamworth Public School176
Tamworth South Public School161
Tighes Hill Public School185
Toormina Public School162
Waitara Public School237
Wentworth Falls Public School165
Wilkins Public School211
Wollongong Public School208
Woollahra Public School219
Wyong Public School166


OC Preparation at Global Education Academy


Opportunity Class Intensive Holiday Course

13-17 July 2020

Delivered: At our Turramurra campus, Kogarah campus and online.

Opportunity Class Preparation: Term 3

Begins: Term 3

Course Duration: 8 Weeks

Delivered Kogarah: Saturday 9am-1pm OR Saturday 1:30-5:30pm

Delivered Turramurra: Saturday 9am-1pm